Rebstockpark Frankfurt - the new neighborhood for visionaries. And investors who stay ahead of the pack.
 

    GREEN MEETS THE CITY Deutsch  
 
blankRebstockpark Frankfurt
blankLocation and Infrastructure
blankNature and Recreation
blankArchitecture and City-planning
blankHistory and Stories
blankData and Facts
blankLinks
blankDownloads
blankMasthead
blankContact
   

 

Rebstockpark - History with a future

[Rebstockpark - Data and facts ->]

THE REBSTOCK WAS A GOOD ADDRESS ALREADY IN THE MIDDLE AGES!

The first official mention of the Rebstock estate - which was named after its patrician Frankfurt owner family - was in the year 1300.

The Rebstock was later inherited by the Domherr Wicker Frosch, who donated the Rebstock to the Katharinenkloster convent that he founded in 1353. Plundering knights from surrounding villages repeatedly threatened the Rebstock during the dangerous times that followed. In 1501 the Pope intervened to protect the Rebstock from its greedy neighbors. The Rebstock Manor house was built in 1788, and subsequently fortified after the aforementioned neighbors resumed their threatening behavior.  
 
DELAG stock certificate from 1910The city of Frankfurt leased the Rebstock in 1910 and made it available to the German Airship Transportation company (DELAG).

DELAG stock certificate from 1910

A new era for the Rebstock had already begun on July 31, 1909.Stamp with view of the airship hangar, around 1910

Stamp with view of the airship hangar, around 1910 
 

REBSTOCK "TAKES OFF"!

LZ 127 over the Rebstock airfield 1929
LZ 127 over the Rebstock airfield 1929 

Graf Zeppelin landed for the first time in Frankfurt with his airship "LZ II" on July 31, 1909.

Graf Zeppelin
Graf Zeppelin

Thousands of spectators cheered so loudly that Graf Zeppelin could not hear the words of greeting from Mayor Adickes. To this day, the Graf Zeppelin memorial near the future Rebstockpark serves as a reminder of his pioneering work. The Rebstock became the home of the flight pioneers. Pilots gathered for the first international flying competition during the "Flyer week" as a part of the "International Airship Exposition" (ILA) in October 1909. The German Airship Transportation company (DELAG) opened the "Airship Harbor Frankfurt" on the Rebstock grounds on March 4, 1912, using the remodeled manor house as headquarters. The festive event was celebrated with the arrival of the dirigible "Viktoria Louise". The "Frankfurt Airport" was opened on the grounds of the Rebstock in August 1926. By 1928, this was the second largest airport in Germany, after Berlin. 
 

Today the Rebstockpark honors the achievements of the flight pioneers with street names, for example, Käthchen Paulus, one of the first women flyers.

Rebstockhof after remodeling of the airport around 1930
Rebstockhof after remodeling of the airport around 1930

A street is named in memory of August Euler, who built an airplane factory on the Rebstock grounds in 1912, after he was awarded the first flying license in 1909, and later started a world famous flying school. Other street names are dedicated to the memories of Bruno Poelke, Max Pruss, Oscar Ursinius, Charles Lindbergh, the Wright brothers, and Colsman. The main boulevard that runs east - west is dedicated to Leonardo da Vinci, who in the 15/16 century studied the possibility of manned flight and constructed the forerunners of the parachute and helicopter. The parallel boulevard is named after the Montgolfier brothers, the inventors of the hot-air balloon.

Flight pioneers with Lufthansa plane around 1930
Flight pioneers with Lufthansa plane around 1930

The
The "VIKTORIA LOUISE" in hangar

Passengers at operation building <br>
Passengers at operation building 

The ticketing hall with passengers
The ticketing hall with passengers

An Albatros L 73 at Rebstock Airport
An Albatros L 73 at Rebstock Airport

 
The Rebstock airport was closed in 1936 after the Rhein-Main-Airport was built, and the buildings destroyed during the war that followed. At the end of the 50´s, the Rebstock was again reoriented to a new purpose. 
 

Since the begining of the 60´s, the Rebstock is dedicated to recreation and free-time activities. In the summer of 1962, the "Rebstock public park" was opened, followed in 1982 by the Rebstock public bathing facility.

The heart of the park is the Rebstock pond, which the Department of Public Gardens proudly presented as an example of a gravel pit that did not result in a ecologic travesty. The Rebstock park was partially financed with the sale of the 100,000 cubic meter sand and gravel that was removed to create the pond. The "Frankfurter Rundschau" headline in the summer of 1962 read "Recreation area created from lunar landscape". 
 
The Rebstockbad that has both indoor and outdoor pools was opened in 1982. This completed the Rebstockpark which offers a bathing facility and recreation park harmoniously integrated into a municipal park which is prized by the public!

   
  Programming: ROESSLER PR Die Agentur für Kommunikation und Digitales Business
http://www.roesslerpr.de * PR agency in Frankfurt on Main, Germany - PR and media relationship specializing in real estate, architecture, facility management
   

[top of page ^]


As of July 2011. Subject to change without prior notice. No responsibility is taken for the correctness of this information. © Rebstock Projektgesellschaft mbH

Rebstock Projektgesellschaft mbH
Managing Directors: Michael Knisatschek, Michael Matzerath
Chairman of the supervisory board: Olaf Cunitz, Mayor of Frankfurt and Head of Planning Department
Leonardo-da-Vinci-Allee 20 * 60486 Frankfurt am Main
tel.: 069 - 716 738-0 * fax : 069 - 716 738-79
email: info@rebstockpark-ffm.de * internet: www.rebstockpark-ffm.de
register court: district court Frankfurt am Main HRB 40813

Rebstockpark Frankfurt - der neue Stadtteil für Menschen, die weiter denken. Und Investoren, die anderen ein Stück voraus sind.
 

    GRÜN FINDET STADT English version  
 
blankRebstockpark Frankfurt
blankLage und Infrastruktur
blankNatur, Erholung, Freizeit
blankArchitektur und Stadtplanung
blankGeschichte und Geschichten
blankDaten und Fakten
blankFranka & Peter: Ein Tag im Rebstockpark
blankGalerie
blankAndere sagen über uns
blankInvestoren und Links
blankDownloads
blankImpressum
blankKontakt
   

 

Der Rebstockpark - Herkunft mit Zukunft

[Daten und Fakten ->]

AM REBSTOCK LIESS ES SICH SCHON IM MITTELALTER GUT LEBEN!

Im Jahr 1300 wurde das Hofgut Rebstock - benannt nach der Frankfurter Patrizierfamilie, zu deren Besitz das Gut gehörte - erstmals urkundlich erwähnt.

Später erbte die Familie des Domherrn Wicker Frosch den Rebstock und der Domherr stattete das 1353 von ihm gestiftete Katharinenkloster mit dem Hofgut aus. Immer wieder bedrohten in diesen unsicheren Zeiten Raubritter aus den umliegenden Dörfern das Anwesen. 1501 musste sogar der Papst eingreifen, um das Gut vor seinen habgierigen Nachbarn zu schützen. 1788 wurde dann das Herrenhaus errichtet und - da missgünstige Nachbarn immer wieder ein Auge darauf geworfen hatten - nach und nach wie eine kleine Burg befestigt.  
 
DELAG-Aktie von 19101910 pachtete die Stadt Frankfurt das Hofgut und überließ es der Deutschen Luftschifffahrts AG (DELAG).

DELAG-Aktie von 1910

Denn schon am 31. Juli 1909 hatte für den Rebstock eine neue Ära begonnen.Vignette mit Ansicht der Luftschiffhalle, um 1910

Vignette mit Ansicht der Luftschiffhalle, um 1910 
 

DER REBSTOCK "HEBT AB"!

LZ 127 über dem Flugplatz Rebstock, 1929
LZ 127 über dem Flugplatz Rebstock, 1929 

Am 31. Juli 1909 landete Graf Zeppelin mit seinem Luftschiff "LZ II" zum ersten Mal in Frankfurt.

Graf Zeppelin
Graf Zeppelin

Zehntausende Menschen aus Frankfurt und der Umgebung jubelten so laut, dass Graf Zeppelin die Begrüßungsworte von Oberbürgermeister Adickes nicht verstehen konnte. Noch heute erinnert die Graf-Zeppelin-Gedenkstätte in unmittelbarer Nähe des neu entstandenen Rebstockparks an diese Pionierleistung. Der Rebstock wurde zur Heimat der Flugpioniere. Während der "Fliegerwoche" anlässlich der "Internationalen Luftschifffahrt-Ausstellung" (ILA) im Oktober 1909 traten Piloten zum ersten internationalen Flugwettbewerb an. Am 4. März 1912 eröffnete die Deutsche Luftschifffahrts AG (DELAG) mit der festlichen Ankunft des künftig hier stationierten Zeppelins "Viktoria Louise" den "Luftschiffhafen am Rebstock". Hofgutgebäude und Herrenhaus wurden in Flugplatzgebäude umgebaut und am 16. August 1926 wurde am Rebstock "Frankfurts Flugplatz" eröffnet. Bereits 1928 war er nach Berlin der zweitgrößte Deutschlands. 
 

Heute ehrt der Rebstockpark die kühnen Leistungen der Flugpioniere durch Strassennamen. Beispielsweise Käthchen Paulus, eine der ersten Frauen in der Luft.

Rebstockhof nach dem Umbau zum Flughafen, ca. 1930
Rebstockhof nach dem Umbau zum Flughafen, ca. 1930

Oder August Euler, der 1912 hier eine Flugzeugfabrik errichtete und - nachdem er 1909 den ersten deutschen Flugzeugführerschein erworben hatte - eine Fliegerschule von Weltruf gründete. Außerdem Bruno Poelke, Max Pruss, Oscar Ursinius sowie Lindbergh, die Gebrüder Wright und Colsman. Die Hauptallee von Ost nach West ist Leonardo da Vinci gewidmet, der bereits im 15./16. Jahrhundert Flügelschlagstudien anstellte sowie Vorläufer von Fallschirm und Helikopter konstruierte. Die parallel verlaufende Allee ist nach den Erfindern des Heißluftballons, den Brüdern Montgolfier, benannt.

Flugpioniere vor einer Lufthansa-Maschine, ca. 1930
Flugpioniere vor einer Lufthansa-Maschine, ca. 1930

Die VIKTORIA LOUISE in der Luftschiffhalle
Die "VIKTORIA LOUISE" in der Luftschiffhalle

Fluggäste vor dem Betriebsgebäude
Fluggäste vor dem Betriebsgebäude

Die Schalterhalle mit Fluggästen
Die Schalterhalle mit Fluggästen

Eine Albatros L 73 auf dem Flugplatz Rebstock
Eine Albatros L 73 auf dem Flugplatz Rebstock

 
1936 wurde der Flugplatz zu Gunsten des neu gebauten Rhein-Main-Flughafens geschlossen, die Gebäude wurden während des Krieges zerstört. Ende der 50er Jahre wurde das Rebstockgelände wiederum einer neuen Bestimmung zugeführt. 
 

Seit Anfang der 60er Jahre ist das Rebstockgelände geprägt von Erholung und Freizeit. Im Sommer 1962 wurde der "Volkspark am Rebstock" eröffnet, 1982 folgte dann das "Erlebnisbad".

Mittelpunkt des großen Parks ist der Rebstockweiher, den das Gartenamt damals stolz als Beispiel dafür präsentierte, "dass Kiesgrube nicht nur Verschandelung der Natur bedeuten muss". Durch den Verkauf von 100.000 Kubikmetern Sand und Kies, die aus dem Weiher gewonnen worden waren, wurde die Anlage des Parks mitfinanziert. "Aus einer Mondlandschaft wurde ein Erholungsgebiet" titelte die "Frankfurter Rundschau" im Sommer 1962. 
 
1982 wurde auf dem Gelände das Rebstockbad mit Schwimmhalle und Freibecken eröffnet. Nun werden Erholungspark und das gerade grundlegend modernisierte Erlebnisbad mit ihrem umfassenden Freizeitangebot harmonisch in den neu entstehenden Rebstockpark integriert. Und machen den Rebstock begehrt wie eh und je! 
 

   
  Programmierung 2003: ROESSLER PR Die Agentur für Kommunikation und Digitales Business
http://www.roesslerpr.de * Frankfurt/Main - Pressearbeit für Immobilien, Architektur und Gebäudemanagement
   

[Seitenanfang ^]


Planungsstand: Juli 2011. Änderungen vorbehalten. Ohne Gewähr. © Rebstock Projektgesellschaft mbH

Rebstock Projektgesellschaft mbH
Geschäftsführer: Michael Knisatschek und Michael Matzerath
Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates: Olaf Cunitz, Frankfurter Bürgermeister und Planungsdezernent
Leonardo-da-Vinci-Allee 20 * 60486 Frankfurt am Main
Tel.: 069 - 716 738-0 * Fax : 069 - 716 738-79
eMail: info@rebstockpark-ffm.de * Internet: www.rebstockpark-ffm.de
Registergericht Amtsgericht Frankfurt am Main HRB 40813